The Boyle County Public Library is operated through a joint venture between the Danville Library, Inc., and the Boyle County Library District. This contractual partnership is unique in Kentucky. It combines the strengths of two organizations to provide a level of public library service that neither organization could easily achieve on its own.

FY2019 Audit

FY2019 Annual Report

FY2019 Anual Report Snapshot

The Danville Library, Inc.

Library service in Danville began in 1893 with a small subscription library of just 300 books. In 1920, in order to purchase property at the corner of 3rd Street and Broadway, the Danville Library Board of Trustees was formed. Today, the current 12-member Board oversees the day-to-day operations of the Library.

Lonnie Harp, President

Jessica R. Johnson, Vice President

Andrea Abrams

Heather Henson

Tom Huckleberry

Susan Jonas

Martha Kerbaugh King

Margaret Young Levi

Heather Pennington

Alethea Price

Stuart Sanders


The Boyle County Library District

Under the authority granted by state government in KRS 173, the citizens of Boyle County undertook a petition drive in 1971 to establish a library district with local taxing authority as a means of expanding library services for all Boyle Countians. A 5-member Board of Trustees oversees the taxing authority of the Library District and approves the transfer of appropriations for Library operations.

John T. Davis, President

Mary Jane Nelson, Vice President

Amy Dafler Meaux, Secretary

Sam Pollom, Treasurer

Vacancy, Member At Large

The Boards of Trustees of the Boyle County Public Library meet on the 2nd Thursday of each month at 10:30 am at the Library.* Meetings are open to the public. Those wishing to address the Boards may request to be added to a meeting agenda by contacting the Library at least one week prior to a meeting.

*Due to COVID-19 physical distancing measures, all board meetings will held virtually and will be live streamed. To view the meeting, click here.
Exterior of library